Spirituality rekindled

This last month has been quite difficult for me. I felt stressed, lost and anxious. Those feelings are not strangers to me, however, this time they felt too much. I tried my usual methods of coping: exercising, watching YouTube videos, music and family and friends. Those didn’t work as well as it used to. I still felt overly tired and desperate. 

I found my solution in something that I had never considered before, a prayer app. I have to admit that I have never been a very spiritual person. I rarely go to mass ( though the reason why has nothing to do with me not being interested in God but rather the way the mass is conducted here) and would say that I’m an agnostic theist. However, when I discovered the Abide app on one of my worry fuelled lack of sleep, I instantly fell in love with it. I listened to some psalms and was asleep in 10min. I discovered on that day the power of spoken prayer. The app has different prayer guides for different situations you might be in and has a set of calming music playing in the background. I listen to it before going to sleep and in the car while going to work.

 Since I have started using the app, I have felt a connection with God that I have never felt before. This makes me wonder: would there be an increase in believers if people were presented with different ways of praying?

xxx

Tip

Leave a Reply

